That’s Why I Love You…

why-i-love-you

I used to think that at the centre of an intimate relationship with God, that the number one concept in regards to a great relationship with God, is my complete surrender to Him. But that has changed.

I am becoming more and more convinced, as the days go by, that the central concept in developing an intimate relationship with God is not MY love for God (surrendering my life to Him), but that it’s actually God’s love for me (growing in my understanding and acceptance of God’s love for me).

You see, God’s Word says that we love God because He FIRST loved us; that my drive for loving God is not an innate/inborn one, but rather a response to His love for me.

Therefore, for every area of my life that I find difficulty in surrendering to God, there’s a corresponding deficit in my understanding and acceptance of God’s love and grace towards me in that area.

The solution, therefore, is not for me to try, by sheer willpower, to surrender that particular area of my life to Him, but rather to seek to grow in my understanding of His love & grace towards me. It is then that my love for Him will flow out naturally from me, as a response to His amazing love.

1 JOHN 4:19
We love Him because He first loved us.

Leave a Reply

