The Difference Between Life and Death

I drove up the hill & approached the T-junction at the end of Riverside Drive. Just as I began to turn homewards, I notice a lady bent down, with another beside her, somewhat helping her. I seek to drive on but the thought rings through my mind, “They might probably need some help. Perhaps they’re tired & could use a lift to wherever they are going.” I debate in my mind for a bit, although by now I’d already made the decision to drive on.

I eventually turn back and head towards the junction. This time as I get there, the lady who was bent down is now lying flat by the road, and lady who was beside her is calling out her name, “Lydia! Lydia! Lydia!” I park the car by the side of the road, and as I do so, I notice another car doing the same thing behind me. By the time I’ve locked the car and approached the ladies, the gentleman from the other vehicle was already by the two ladies. He’d already discovered that the lady on the ground was epileptic & had just had an epileptic fit (she was foaming at the mouth). She was alive. Thank God. I also found the gentleman in the process of assuring the sister (the other lady) that her sister would be fine, that she would come to in a bit. And sure enough, she did.
We helped her up & put her sit somewhere by the road as we sought to find out more from her sister. Having shared that they didn’t have enough money for medication, the gentleman gave her some money & called for his office cab guy to come & drop them home. He decided to wait with them for the cab guy under the canopy of a nearby tree, as the rain continued to pour. I headed back towards the car, leaving the gentleman with the two ladies, as a conversation on how cold it was began (the two ladies had been shivering).
The one thought that was on my mind as I left was: “I need to know the basics of first aid.” Had that other gentleman not come, I don’t know what I’d have done/advised in that situation. Because of his knowledge on epilepsy, not only was he able to assure Lydia’s sister that her sister would be fine, but he was also able to advise her on how not to place someone who’s had an epileptic fit on their back, and to instead put them on their side, so that they don’t choke on their saliva & the foam in their mouth.
I’m thankful Lydia’s alive.
I really need to learn first aid.
Leave a Reply

