“Aii! Oookay.” #RelationshipTings

For quite some time now I’ve been on this quest of discovering who exactly this lady I’m going to marry is. I feel as though I have a good idea of her characteristics (interests, personality, background) based on a number of things, largely my purpose in life & some things I’ve felt God impress in my heart about her.

So it got to a point where I’m 80% sure it’s this particular lady (name withheld for obvious reasons 😊). Then some time last week, while I was on leave & seeking more clarity about my purpose (amongst other things like figuring out how to create order in my life), things changed. The more I thought through my purpose verse (Matthew 5:14-16, from the Message Paraphrase), the more another wonderful lady, & how she seems to connect much more with that purpose, came to mind. I was like “Aii! Oookay.”

And this has happened a number of times, where I think it’s this particular lady, then I get to a particular place & things change. So after this recent incident, and a couple of others that occurred between then & now, I’ve come to a realisation, one that I’ve thought of & shared about before, but is so on point for me right now, and here it is: I don’t believe that God wants me to be preoccupied with trying to figure out who she is. He instead wants me focus on seeking His kingdom, His purpose for my life, and then the lady will follow. So that instead of focusing on trying to figure out “Who is she?” or “Is she the one?”, that my complete focus should be on Him & His purpose for my life; on the things He’s pointing me towards right now, up until the point He brings her, or brings the two of us together & I can SAY with certainty, “Now this is the one.”

“The young lions lack and suffer hunger; But those who seek the LORD shall not lack any good thing.”
‭‭
Psalms‬ ‭34:10‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing, And obtains favor from the LORD.”
‭‭
Proverbs‬ ‭18:22‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

3 Comments Add yours

  1. autodes.com says:

    Hi there, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

    Like

  2. pearlshidden says:

    This is a very interesting read, I appreciate your candour. And it is so similar to something God told me sometime back, surrender to Him, even in this area, and He will bring it to pass in His own good time. Focus.

    Like

    1. Imonje says:

      Yeah, surrender in this particular area is so key, and also quite countercultural in a number of ways.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

