Giving and the Needs that Daily Surround Us

​So I’ve just gotten back (well, not now now but…) home from a lifegroup bible study session we had earlier this evening. We began studying the book of Galatians a couple of weeks back, and so today we studied Chapter 2.
As I was preparing and reading through it before heading out to the meeting earlier, this particular verse popped out for me: 
“They requested only that we remember the poor, the very thing I also was eager to do.” (Galatians 2:10 NET) 
It reminded me of another verse that popped up for me not too long ago as well, which was,
“The one who steals must steal no longer; rather he must labor, doing good with his own hands, so that he may have something to share with the one who has need.” (Ephesians 4:28 NET)
This then reminded me of yet another passage of Scripture in the book of Acts regarding the early church, which says, 
“They were devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. Reverential awe came over everyone, and many wonders and miraculous signs came about by the apostles. All who believed were together and held everything in common, and they began selling their property and possessions and distributing the proceeds to everyone, as anyone had need.” (Acts 2:42‭-‬45 NET)
The thing that pops out for me from these 3 passages is the big place that meeting the needs of those around the people then played in their lives. I mean, in the Scripture from Ephesians, it’s as though the main purpose the reformed thief is going to work is so that he is able to have something to share with those in need. The early church in the passage from Acts sold their belongings so that there was no need in their midst. It brings a whole fresh meaning to what being blessed to be blessing is, right?
I felt challenged in regards to my personal giving and the percentage of my income I set aside towards that. It’s something I’ve been having conversations with God about, trying to figure out what would be a suitable percentage to give. However, these scriptures just brought it home. From them, I get the sense that I should be living my life with the good of others being at the forefront of my mind; that I should be aware of the needs around me (at lifegroup, at work, at home, in my neighbourhood, etc), and constantly think of how I can help in meeting those needs. (At this point I’d like to give a shout out to my bro Hilary! This is a solid guy. He’s recently been used by God to meet my specific needs for a new phone & comfortable, cool looking shoes. Gota ju ya hiyo story bro 👊)
It’s no wonder that the early church then were increasing daily in their numbers. I mean, your neighbour finds out that your lifegroup is helping you pay rent and meet the needs of your family as you deal with the consequences of a sudden retrenchment, tell me he won’t want to meet these people, or at least learn more about who they are and what their motivation is. Matthew 5:16 comes into play right here – “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”
I was challenged. I’m seeking to change my thinking when I first receive any income, from, “How can I distribute this for me?”, to “How can what I have be used to meet the needs around me?” I think it’s with this kind of mindset, this kind of love motivated giving, that much fruit is born, for truly we are blessed to be a blessing, a channel of God’s amazing love. And as I give, I need not worry about my own needs, for Jesus promised that if I give, it shall be given back to me:
“Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults—unless, of course, you want the same treatment. Don’t condemn those who are down; that hardness can boomerang. Be easy on people; you’ll find life a lot easier. Give away your life; you’ll find life given back, but not merely given back—given back with bonus and blessing. Giving, not getting, is the way. Generosity begets generosity.” (Luke 6:37‭-‬38 MSG)
It’s interesting to note that in the context of the above passage, the giving isn’t limited to money alone, but all life in general.
You’re blessed to be a blessing. Blessed with money, blessed with talents, blessed with time…to be blessing. Being other – people minded is the way to go. Let’s go that way, and see the amazing life God has prepared for us and those around us!
Have a good night peeps! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

