#SoulfulJune begins…

on

#SoulfulJune
So, a couple of days back I was reviewing my expenditure for the month of May (I usually record my expenses on an app called Moneylover, quite a good app) and something “interesting” showed up: a HUGE percentage of my income was spent on food!
As I thinking through this, a thought came to mind: what if this same amount of dollars had been spent on spiritual food i.e. buying some sermons online, books, etc…wueh! I’d be elsewhere now.
Then yesterday, at a lifegroups training we had in church, the pastor that was leading the session, in outlining some of the disciplines a lifegroup leader should cultivate, mentioned fasting. Now, I haven’t been such a big fan of fasting. I do it once in a while but not that often. He suggested something that became the genesis of #SoulfulJune, which I’m now embarking on:
He asked us whether we knew what the meaning of “breakfast” was. After a bit of silence, he shared that you wake up having fasted the whole night, & therefore break it in the morning with a meal. In the same line, he made a suggestion that I felt I should pick up: why not have breakfast as your only meal of the day, then for the rest of the day survive on warm water. It’ll be good for my body system, but more so my spiritual one, as I spend more time with God & His Word.
So, today I begin #SoulfulJune, the focus being on keeping my soul full, feeding it with God’s Word, renewing my mind. I looking forward to seeing the following bible verses finding fruition in my life. Wanna join in? 😊
Why do you spend money for what is not bread, And your wages for what does not satisfy? Listen carefully to Me, and eat what is good, And let your soul delight itself in abundance.

~ Isaiah 55:2 NKJV


Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers.

~ 3 John 1:2 NKJV

Leave a Reply

